Scroll to content
Sunny Bank Primary School

Minster in SheppeyPrimary School

Change Language

Formal Assessments

Standard Assessment Tests


SATs are a DfE set test aimed to measure children’s educational achievement in years 2 and 6, with the ultimate aim of holding schools to account for the attainment of their pupils and the progress they make. Over the years we have had great success with our pupils showing just how amazing they are! 

The Kent Test (previously called the 11+)


The Kent Test is an examination used to assess whether Year 7 grammar school entry is a suitable option for your child. It is used by most, but not all, of the 35 wholly selective and 4 partially selective grammar schools in the region.

EYFS (Reception Baseline Assessment)

The purpose of the assessment is to provide the starting point for a new measure that will help parents understand how well schools support their pupils to progress between reception and Year 6/the end of Key Stage 2

Year 1 Phonics Screening


The Phonics Screening Check is meant to show how well your child can use the phonics skills they’ve learned up to the end of Year 1, and to identify students who need extra phonics help. The Department for Education defines the checks as “short, light-touch assessments” that take about four to nine minutes to complete.

The multiplication tables check (MTC)


The purpose of the MTC is to determine whether pupils can recall their times tables fluently, which is essential for future success in mathematics. It will help schools to identify pupils who have not yet mastered their times tables, so that additional support can be provided.

Get in Touch